Difference Between Similar Terms and Objects

Difference Between EST and EDT


“EST” stands for “Eastern Standard Time” while “EDT” is the abbreviation for “Eastern Daylight Time.” Both refer to time zones used in the same area but in different parts of the year.

The two times are particularly used in North America, particularly in the United States of America and Canada. The aforementioned time zones are part of the 21 time zones in North America, the 9 standard time zones used in the United States as a country and the 4 standard time zones used in the mainland United States. The four, main, standard time zones in the mainland United States are: Eastern Time Zone, Central Time Zone, Mountain Time Zone, and the Pacific Time Zone. Both time zones are part of the Eastern Time Zone.

The Eastern Time Zone, in particular, runs from the Ohio Valley eastward to the Atlantic Coast. The particular area which covers this time zone is called the East Coast which consists of the following states: Connecticut, Delaware, District of Columbia, Maine, Maryland, Massachusetts, Michigan, New Hampshire, Indiana, Kentucky, New Jersey, New York, North Carolina, Ohio, Pennsylvania, Rhode Island, South Carolina, east counties of Tennessee, Vermont, Virginia, and West Virginia. Canada also uses this time zone mostly in the following locations: Nunavut, Ontario, and Quebec.

The Eastern Standard Time (also commonly known as EST) is the method of time used during fall and winter. It starts during the first Sunday of November until the middle of March, more specifically the second Sunday of March. In the second Sunday of March, clocks switch into the Eastern Daylight Time (EDT for short). The Eastern Daylight Time lasts from the second Sunday of March to the first Sunday of November, basically the time method for the seasons of summer – spring.

Another difference between Eastern Standard Time and Eastern Daylight Time is their hour difference from the Coordinated Universal Time (UTC) or Greenwich Mena time (GMT). The Eastern Standard Time is five hours behind the Coordinated Universal time while the Eastern Daylight Time is only four hours behind the Greenwich Mean Time. Eastern Standard Tme, with respect with the Coordinated Universal Time, is indicated as UTC – 5 hours. Also, in comparison with the Eastern Daylight time, the Eastern Standard Time is an hour behind. Meanwhile, Eastern daylight time is indicated as UTC -4 hours and is an hour earlier compared to the Eastern Standard Time.

The Daylight Time scheme, which includes the Eastern Daylight time, was developed to take advantage of longer time of sunlight in the summer season. In turn, it became a method d to increase human activity and production during the longer time of daylight.


1.Eastern Standard Time and Eastern Daylight Time are both time zones under the Eastern Time Zone. They are both included in the 21 North American time zones, 9 main United States time zones (which includes Alaska and Hawaii time zones )and the 4 standard time zone in mainland United States.
2.Both time zones are used in the same areas in the United States and Canada but in different parts of the year. Eastern Standard is used during the fall – winter season, beginning at the first Sunday of November. Eastern Standard Time is canceled at the second Sunday of March and switches into Eastern Daylight Time for the summer – spring season. The cycle begins again with Eastern Standard on the time when the first Sunday of November approach.
3.With regard to the Coordinated Universal Time, Eastern Standard is 5 hours behind while Eastern Daylight is four hours behind. Compared with each other, Eastern Standard Time is one hour behind Eastern Daylight time.

Sharing is caring!

Search DifferenceBetween.net :

Email This Post Email This Post : If you like this article or our site. Please spread the word. Share it with your friends/family.


  1. You forgot to include Florida in the Eastern Time Zone. Also, there are parts of Indiana that are on Central time.

    • I mean, if you’re going to troll the author, you should at least be thorough. Some parts of Florida are actually central time, as well as some parts of Kentucky, and Georgia is also missing.

  2. You’re missing one state: Florida

    • If you’re going to troll the author, maybe you should make sure you’re correct yourself. There are TWO states missing, not one. Georgia is also missing.

  3. You are also missing Georgia from the list.

Leave a Response

Please note: comment moderation is enabled and may delay your comment. There is no need to resubmit your comment.

Articles on DifferenceBetween.net are general information, and are not intended to substitute for professional advice. The information is "AS IS", "WITH ALL FAULTS". User assumes all risk of use, damage, or injury. You agree that we have no liability for any damages.

See more about :
Protected by Copyscape Plagiarism Finder