Difference Between Similar Terms and Objects

Difference Between SDLC and Waterfall Model

SDLC vs Waterfall Model
A software development life cycle model, or SDLC, is a structured approach to the development of software. There are a number of activities done in a sequential order to achieve the end product. Each phase is associated with a deliverable that acts as an input to the subsequent phase of SDLC. Let us take a look at the different phases of the SDLC model:

1. Requirement – This phase is the most important one for stakeholders and managers. These requirements determine the users of the system, their main functionalities, the inputs and outputs of the system. The output of this entire process is a functional specification document that explains the system as a whole.
2. Design – The input to this phase is the functional specification document from the requirement phase. This phase details out the look of the system. The main output from this stage is software design and the decision of hardware and software requirements.
3. Implementation – It is the longest phase of SDLC which implements the design in the form of code. The developers are the main people at work in this phase. In certain SDLC models, the testing and design phase overlap with the implementation phase.
4. Testing – This includes both unit as well as system testing. Unit testing helps to identify bugs in each module whereas system testing checks the system’s functionality as a whole. The purpose of testing is to check whether the code has been able to achieve the required functionality as defined in the requirement phase or not.

Some of the most popular SDLC models are:
* Waterfall Model
* V-Shaped Model
* Incremental Life Cycle Model
* Spiral Model

Waterfall model is one of the most popular SDLC models. It is a classic approach to software development that follows a linear and sequential method to deliver software product. This model has different deliverables from each phase. This model offers the following benefits:
1. It is simple and easy to implement.
2. Since the model follows a linear approach, it becomes easier to manage.
3. Each phase is executed one at a time.
4. This is best utilized for small-sized projects.

With advantages come certain disadvantages. Some of them are discussed below:
1. There is a high-risk factor involved.
2. It is not beneficial for big projects.
3. It cannot be used for projects where requirements can change.
4. It is not suited for projects that are complex or that employ OOPS concepts.

1. SDLC, or Software Development Lifecycle, is used to plan project activities in a
chronological manner.
2. Output from one phase of SDLC acts as input to the next phase. Requirements are
converted into design. Design determines the code that needs to be written to
implement it. Testing verifies whether the code satisfies the design and requirement.
3. The main phases of SDLC are: requirement, design, coding, testing, and maintenance.
4. In a waterfall model, one of the most popular SDLC models, each step follows in a
sequential manner without overlapping or iterative steps.

Sharing is caring!

Search DifferenceBetween.net :

Email This Post Email This Post : If you like this article or our site. Please spread the word. Share it with your friends/family.

1 Comment

  1. Why would you choose one system development life cycle model over the other

Leave a Response

Please note: comment moderation is enabled and may delay your comment. There is no need to resubmit your comment.

Articles on DifferenceBetween.net are general information, and are not intended to substitute for professional advice. The information is "AS IS", "WITH ALL FAULTS". User assumes all risk of use, damage, or injury. You agree that we have no liability for any damages.

See more about :
Protected by Copyscape Plagiarism Finder