Difference Between Similar Terms and Objects

Difference Between Sudan and South Sudan

Sudan vs South Sudan

Until recently, Sudan and South Sudan were a unified country. Africa is mainly known for its diversity of wildlife, but there is more to be known about this continent than its wildlife. There are certain political issues in some parts of the continent that require the world’s attention. Sudan and South Sudan are such parts of the continent which one should understand.


Sudan is situated at the northeast part of the continent and is considered the largest country of the continent. The official name of Sudan is the Republic of Sudan while its national name is Jamhuryat as-Sudan. Its neighboring countries are Libya and Egypt at the northern side, Ethiopia and Eritrea towards the east, South Sudan, Kenya, Uganda, and the Democratic Republic of the Congo at the southern end, and Chad and the Central African Republic at the western side. The capital of Sudan is Khartoum. It is divided into 17 states. The largest city of Sudan is Omdurman.

The official language of Sudan is Arabic. The major religion of the country is Islam which comprises almost 70 percent of the population. Five percent of the Christian community is also found in the southern parts of the country and in the capital region.

Sudan has a long history. The people have had to face two civil wars.  The first one ran for 17 years from 1955 to 1972 and another one, which commenced in 1983 and ended in 2005, was due to some religious, economic, and ethnic differences. The Sudanese government had to make an agreement with the southern rebels to adopt a new political system having an independent referendum.


The Flag of Sudan

The Map of South Sudan


South Sudan

South Sudan is also an African country which became an independent state in 2011.  The capital of South Sudan is Juba which is also the largest city. South Sudan shares its borders with the Democratic Republic of the Congo, the Central African Republic, Ethiopia, Uganda, Kenya, and Sudan. It is divided into ten states.

Arabic and English are the two official languages of South Sudan. The country follows Christianity and Animism.
South Sudan has a different government system from the government of Sudan. They fought to stand on their own to be called an independent country and, ultimately, in 2005 got what they wanted agreeing to end the civil war. Sudan had to change its Constitution in the year 2011 when an independent referendum was created.


The Flag of South Sudan

The Map of South Sudan



  1. Sudan and South Sudan are both parts of the African continent.
  2. Both want what is best in their own interests.
  3. Sudan has since long been acknowledged as an independent country while South Sudan became an independent country in 2011 after an independence referendum.
  4. South Sudanese are Christians while Northerners are a mixed population where the main religion is Islam.
  5. The official language of Sudan is Arabic while the official language of South Sudan is Arabic as well as English.

Sharing is caring!

Search DifferenceBetween.net :

Email This Post Email This Post : If you like this article or our site. Please spread the word. Share it with your friends/family.

Leave a Response

Please note: comment moderation is enabled and may delay your comment. There is no need to resubmit your comment.

Articles on DifferenceBetween.net are general information, and are not intended to substitute for professional advice. The information is "AS IS", "WITH ALL FAULTS". User assumes all risk of use, damage, or injury. You agree that we have no liability for any damages.

See more about : , , , ,
Protected by Copyscape Plagiarism Finder