Difference Between Similar Terms and Objects

Difference Between Lymphocytes and Leukocytes

Lymphocytes vs Leukocytes

Lymphocytes are a type of white blood cells in the immune system. It has three major types, namely: Natural Killer (NK) cells, T-cells (Thymus cells) and B-cells (Bone cells).
NK cells are a type of cytotoxic (cell toxic) lymphocyte that represent a major component of the inherent immune system. NK cells reject tumors and cells infected by viruses. It works through the process of apoptosis or programmed cell death. They were termed “natural killers” because they do not require activation in order to kill cells.
T-cells play a major role in cell-mediated-immunity (no antibody involvement). Its T-cell receptors (TCR) differentiate themselves from other lymphocyte types. The thymus, a specialized organ of the immune system, is primarily responsible for the T cell’s maturation. There are six types of T-cells, namely: Helper T-cells, Cytotoxic T-cells, Memory T-cells, Regulatory T-cells, Natural Killer T-cells (NKT) and Gamma Delta T-cells.

B-cells, on the other hand, play a principal role in humoral immunity (with antibody involvement). It makes antibodies and antigens and performs the role of antigen-presenting cells (APCs) and turns into memory B-cells after activation by antigen interaction. In mammals, immature B-cells are formed in the bone marrow, where its name is derived from.
Meanwhile, a leukocyte is the scientific name of the more prominently known white blood cells (W.B.C.’s). These cells protect the body from various diseases through different ways. The red bone marrow’s stem cells, called hemocytoblasts, give rise to almost all white blood cells. Others are formed in the lymphatic system.
There are five types of white blood cells that are grouped under two major classifications, that is: granulocytes (with granules) and agranulocytes (without granules).

There are three types of W.B.C.’s under granulocytes, namely:
Neutrophils, which ingest foreign contaminants in the body. They are the most common W.B.C.’s.
Eosinophils which moderate allergic reactions.
Basophils which promote inflammation.
Meanwhile, the two types of W.B.C.’s under agranulocytes are monocytes which consume bacteria and lymphocytes which was elaborated above.


1.Lymphocytes are a type of white blood cells while leukocytes are equivalently termed in general as white blood cells.
2.Leukocytes are grouped under two major classifications, that is: granulocytes (with granules) and agranulocytes (without granules)
3.There are three types of lymphocytes while there are five types of leukocytes, one of which are lymphocytes.

Sharing is caring!

Search DifferenceBetween.net :

Email This Post Email This Post : If you like this article or our site. Please spread the word. Share it with your friends/family.


  1. very helpful thankx

  2. Are mast cells also granulocytes? I also thought they moderate allergic reactions because they produce histamines, not eosinophils.

Leave a Response

Please note: comment moderation is enabled and may delay your comment. There is no need to resubmit your comment.

Articles on DifferenceBetween.net are general information, and are not intended to substitute for professional advice. The information is "AS IS", "WITH ALL FAULTS". User assumes all risk of use, damage, or injury. You agree that we have no liability for any damages.

See more about :
Protected by Copyscape Plagiarism Finder